History of the school
The Webber Independent School first opened its doors in 2011. The school comes from a long tradition of academic excellence dating back to the 19th Century.
The Bury Lawn School was first founded by two sisters Miss Iris Aylward Michell and Miss Katherine Myrtle Michell, in the Spring of 1940. The sisters managed to persuade the majority of the parents of their London School in Gidea Park to move their children to the much safer environment of Newport Pagnell. The school was run as a day/boarding school throughout the war, when overseas parents would come and stay with their children in the school holidays. The Michell sisters continued to run the successful and growing school until they retired in 1970, when they sold Bury Lawn to Rene Soskin.
It operated as a junior school until 1976 when Mrs Soskin bought the Knoll in Aspley Guise. The Knoll had housed a prep school from 1892 to 1974, and Mrs Soskin used the site to establish Bury Lawn Senior School.
In 1987, the junior and senior schools combined onto the current site in Stantonbury Fields, and the school was bought by GEMS in 2003. The most important changes since have been the addition of the fabulous sports hall in 2005 and the refurbishment of the science labs in 2006.
During the Summer term of 2010, the historic Bury Lawn School was renamed The Webber Independent School, after the urban designer and theorist responsible for Milton Keynes’ unique design, Melvin M. Webber “the father of the city.” The school name and logo was selected and designed by students and parents of the Bury Lawn community.